Dual Mode Context Sensitive Help in Delphi 5

This section is for programmers. Please use it for all discussons on interfacing help with your applications and related subjects.

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Michael Schwarzl

mofnet

Dual Mode Context Sensitive Help in Delphi 5

Unread post by mofnet »

I am new to help authoring and need some additional direction to implement dual mode context sensitive help in my Delphi 5 application. My application is successfully using the CHM file via the EHS components, but I'm not sure how to tell it to use the separately created WinHelp file containing popup information.

Thanks in advance.

Jeff
Alexander Halser
EC-Software Support

Unread post by Alexander Halser »

This is defined by the HelpType property of the HelpRouter component. Simply set it to "htMixedMode" and set the name of HelpRouter.CHMPopupTopics to the HLP file name.
Alexander Halser
Senior Software Architect, EC Software GmbH
mofnet

Unread post by mofnet »

Alexander,

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction, but still don't understand something. Help & Manual is creating two files: MyApp.chm and MyApp_popup.hlp. I have the following line of code in the OnCreate event of my main form:

Application.HelpFile := ExtractFilePath(Application.ExeName) + 'MyApp.hlp';

I have the following properties set in the HelpRouter:

CHMPopupTopics := MyApp_popup.hlp;
HelpType := htMixedMode;

With this configuration, the popup file is not found. The error message says it's looking for MyApp.hlp. If I change the name of MyApp_popup.hlp to MyApp.hlp, everything works, but that seems to defeat the purpose of setting the CHMPopupTopics property.

Am I doing something wrong or does my popup file have to have the same name as the .hlp file I'm defining OnCreate of the form?

Thanks!
Alexander Halser
EC-Software Support