Problem with indexes

Please post all questions and comments regarding Help & Manual 7 here.

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

Post Reply
Andrey Bushman
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:54 pm

Problem with indexes

Unread post by Andrey Bushman »

I have a problem with indexes... Some my keywords are the --local, --global, --system (i.e. start at "--" prefix) - this is the options of Git program. Other my keywords contain cyrilic chars: А,Б,В,Г,Д, etc.
This is settings of my project:
1.png
But this is a result (the keywords which are started with "--" aren't grouped also):
2.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
Posts: 23155
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with indexes

Unread post by Tim Green »

Hi Andrey,

You can't use the "-" character as the first character of an index entry. That is physically impossible with the way that the current index works. It will not ever be classed as a valid ordering character, so that is out of the question.

You need to add your Cyrillic characters to the index in the skin, not in your project. :
  1. Open the skin in Help & Manual and go to Configuration > Publishing Options > WebHelp > Keyword Index
  2. Add your characters to the separators box at the bottom
  3. Locate this list of index code in the source code of the index page:

    Code: Select all

      <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#A')" class="idxrefs">A</a>
      <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#B')" class="idxrefs">B</a>
      <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#C')" class="idxrefs">C</a>
    ...
  4. Add your own separators to the list in the order you want them to appear, ,like this:

    Code: Select all

      <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Z')" class="idxrefs">Z</a>
      <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Ф')" class="idxrefs">Ф</a>
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
Andrey Bushman
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: Problem with indexes

Unread post by Andrey Bushman »

Tim Green wrote: You can't use the "-" character as the first character of an index entry. That is physically impossible with the way that the current index works. It will not ever be classed as a valid ordering character, so that is out of the question.
Is this problem are specific for Help & Manual engine only?
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
Posts: 23155
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with indexes

Unread post by Tim Green »

Hi Andrey,
Is this problem are specific for Help & Manual engine only?
I'm really not sure. However, I'm going to check with our developers to look into the possibility of allowing the dash as an ordering character.
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
Andrey Bushman
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: Problem with indexes

Unread post by Andrey Bushman »

Thank you. It would be useful capability, because many Linux programs (and their Windows-clones) uses the keys with "-" and "--" prefixes (for own console-parameters). I still didn't check the same problem for "/" prefix, which is often used like a prefix for keys of Windows programs (maybe the same problem exists) - I hope your developers check it also.

So, I wait an answer of your developers, Tim.

Thank you.
Andrey Bushman
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: Problem with indexes

Unread post by Andrey Bushman »

I added the records, as you wrote above:

Code: Select all

<div id="indexRefs">
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#А')" class="idxrefs">А</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Б')" class="idxrefs">Б</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#В')" class="idxrefs">В</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Г')" class="idxrefs">Г</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Д')" class="idxrefs">Д</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Е')" class="idxrefs">Е</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Ж')" class="idxrefs">Ж</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#З')" class="idxrefs">З</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#И')" class="idxrefs">И</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#К')" class="idxrefs">К</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Л')" class="idxrefs">Л</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#М')" class="idxrefs">М</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Н')" class="idxrefs">Н</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#О')" class="idxrefs">О</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#П')" class="idxrefs">П</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Р')" class="idxrefs">Р</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#С')" class="idxrefs">С</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Т')" class="idxrefs">Т</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#У')" class="idxrefs">У</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Ф')" class="idxrefs">Ф</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Х')" class="idxrefs">Х</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Ц')" class="idxrefs">Ц</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Ч')" class="idxrefs">Ч</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Ш')" class="idxrefs">Ш</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Щ')" class="idxrefs">Щ</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Э')" class="idxrefs">Э</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Ю')" class="idxrefs">Ю</a>
  <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#Я')" class="idxrefs">Я</a>
<div id="callout-wrap">
But I get incorrect result of searching:
5.png
I thought, maybe it is case sensitive and tried this also:

Code: Select all

 <a href="javascript:gotoIndex('#к')" class="idxrefs">к</a>
But it didn't help too. How can I fix it?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
Posts: 23155
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with indexes

Unread post by Tim Green »

Hi Andrey,

You may have done something wrong because your screenshot shows that you are not getting a -K- separator heading. Check that you also added the Cyrillic K to the white separators list box below the source code editor. Also make sure that you clear the cache in your browser before testing. If you continue to have problems please mail me a small demo project illustrating the issue and a copy of your skin to support AT ec-software.com (replace the AT with @) and I will check it for you.
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
Andrey Bushman
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: Problem with indexes

Unread post by Andrey Bushman »

Tim Green wrote:Check that you also added the Cyrillic K to the white separators list box below the source code editor.
Oh, I didn't note it. I added this information and now it works. Thanks!

I translated English to Russian in the local copy of the skin template, but to do the same for each skin when I want to change the skin it is very unconvenient and takes many time. :(
Andrey Bushman
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: Problem with indexes

Unread post by Andrey Bushman »

I translated English text to Russian, but I see some text is not translated:
6.png
Where is this text located?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
Posts: 23155
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with indexes

Unread post by Tim Green »

The search interface has a separate language file that you can edit in the skin along with the other search options in WebHelp > Full-text Search. However, this interface already has a Russian language file that you can load. Just click on the Load button at the top right above the box containing the list of text strings to load it. After that you can check the texts loaded and edit them if you like. You can also save your edited version with the Save button next to the Load button.
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Alexander Halser
EC-Software Support
Posts: 4098
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 7:24 pm
Location: Salzburg, Austria
Contact:

Re: Problem with indexes

Unread post by Alexander Halser »

Hello Andrey,

This is actually a Windows feature and not a bug. The keyword list is sorted linguistically and not in the same order as the byte values the string consists of might suggest. This is absolutely necessary, because the linguistic sort order depends on the language.

Keywords are sorted case insensitive and the order is determined by the language of your help project. The differences between languages are subtle but they are required. When sorting the keywords, H&M calls the Windows function CompareString with the LCID derived from your project language.

In a linguistic sort order, texts starting with a hyphen are sorted under the letter which comes next to the hyphen. It is sorted by Windows depending on the language support of the Windows version. But the hyphens are a clear case: they are ignored and this makes sense.

For more background information, please refer to the following links:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... s.85).aspx
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... s.85).aspx
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3680 ... -before-it
Alexander Halser
Senior Software Architect, EC Software GmbH
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
Posts: 23155
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with indexes

Unread post by Tim Green »

Hi Andrey,
I translated English to Russian in the local copy of the skin template, but to do the same for each skin when I want to change the skin it is very unconvenient and takes many time.
The Premium Pack comes with a utility called PP Updater that allows you to transfer all your settings from one skin to another. Have a look at the Premium Pack documentation for details. :)
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
Andrey Bushman
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: Problem with indexes

Unread post by Andrey Bushman »

Ok, I will spend my time for more it reading. Thank you.
Post Reply