Where can variables NOT be used?

Please post all questions and comments regarding Help & Manual 7 here.

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tobias Escher » Thu Nov 10, 2016 4:53 pm

The manual has a section which explains where variables can be used.
Is there a similar section that says where they can NOT be used?
It seems the Description is onw such place. When I enter variables there, they are not resolved.
Tobias Escher
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tim Green » Thu Nov 10, 2016 4:58 pm

Hi Tobias,

Almost all of the fields in Help+Manual now support variables, and it's generally easy to add the support to fields that don't have it yet. I've asked Alexander about the Description: field -- I didn't test it myself yet. I'm afraid there probably isn't a list yet because this has been added step by step over the years, but I've asked about that too. :)
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tim Green » Fri Nov 11, 2016 6:47 am

Update: The variables should actually work in the description. That's a bug and will be fixed in 7.2. Otherwise there are two main categories of fields where variables don't work/aren't allowed:

  • File name references
  • IDs, like the Topic ID
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tobias Escher » Fri Nov 11, 2016 9:46 am

That's great news!
Is there a changelog somewhere so I can see when the issue is fixed?
Tobias Escher
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tim Green » Fri Nov 11, 2016 10:24 am

Tobias Escher wrote:Is there a changelog somewhere so I can see when the issue is fixed?

There's no public changelog during the beta phase but I'll let you know when it's updated. :)
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tobias Escher » Fri Nov 11, 2016 1:27 pm

Great, thanks a lot!
Tobias Escher
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tobias Escher » Mon Nov 28, 2016 2:19 pm

Should this issue already be fixed?
You said it would be fixed in 7.2, but I still have it.
Slowly but surely I need to think about the next public release of our documentation :)
Tobias Escher
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tim Green » Mon Nov 28, 2016 2:41 pm

Hi Tobias,

Tobias Escher wrote:Should this issue already be fixed?
You said it would be fixed in 7.2, but I still have it.

I just checked this and variables in the Description field are working fine for me (7.2 Build 4029).
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tobias Escher » Mon Nov 28, 2016 3:14 pm

Weird - 4029 here, too, and it does not work (using the new 3.2 PP Skins).
Tobias Escher
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tim Green » Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:27 pm

Tobias Escher wrote:Weird - 4029 here, too, and it does not work (using the new 3.2 PP Skins).

There it entirely where and when you look. If you look in the HTML files you will see that the variables in the description have been entered with the <%TOPIC_DESCRIPTION%> variable, and that is what matters for search engines because they index the HTML files.
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tim Green » Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:53 pm

Update: I just checked and it seems that HM is currently not outputting the description to the hmDescription attribute in the JS versions of the topics in WebHelp 3, so that the description isn't being updated when topics are loaded while browsing. We're looking into this. :)
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tobias Escher » Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:42 am

I'm afraid I don't know what you mean... I have no issues with search engines. I don't even care about Google and others :)
My problem is that when I use a variable in the Description (in H+M, not the description HTML tag), it is not resolved.
Tobias Escher
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tim Green » Tue Nov 29, 2016 11:02 am

Tobias Escher wrote:My problem is that when I use a variable in the Description (in H+M, not the description HTML tag), it is not resolved.

Where? The description will only appear in your output if the <%TOPIC_DESCRIPTION%> variable is used. Where is this being used and not being resolved?
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tobias Escher » Tue Nov 29, 2016 11:55 am

I'm using the PP3 Minimalist_Plain_White skin.
When I use a variable in the Description field within H+M to be displayed overlaid with a featured image (for example http://helpdesk.orchestraltools.com/index.html), the variable is not resolved.
In the link above there is no variable used, that is just to show you where it happens when it goes wrong. The text "Orchestral Tools - finest symphonic sampling project | HELPDESK" is the description part. if I were to use a variable in that description, it would not be resolved.
Tobias Escher
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Where can variables NOT be used?

Unread postby Tim Green » Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:19 pm

Hi Tobias,

Thanks, I've now located it. Variables in the description are being resolved in the page template but not in the compressed JSON version of the page. This will require a fix in Help+Manual itself, which I'm sure will be coming soon. :)
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany

Next

Return to Help & Manual 7 Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron