Variable for Topic's Page Number

Please post all questions and comments regarding Help & Manual 7 here.

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

Tonea Morrow

Variable for Topic's Page Number

Unread post by Tonea Morrow »

I'm making a special, graphical Table of Contents. Next to each picture, I have a need to put the page number where that graphic is addressed (or topic's page number). I'm assuming I need to use a variable so the page number updates as topics are moved. How do I do that? I looked at "variables" in help but I'm not a coder. Is this graphical TOC with auto-updating pages possible?

Tonea Morrow
Dave Gehman

Re: Variable for Topic's Page Number

Unread post by Dave Gehman »

Are you creating this TOC manually?

If so, could you not simply put a word (e.g.) 'link' next to or right under each graphic, then apply a link on each word so they point to the target topic? Possibly even just apply a link to the graphic?

Oh - just realized - you might be envisioning a printed output (Word or PDF). In that case, you definitely need the page number...

So, basic question: what is the final form of your manual? Web? CHM? Word? PDF?...
Tim Green
Site Admin

Unread post by Tim Green »

Hi Tonea,

If you're using PDF there is already a function for that called "page referrers". It automatically inserts the page number of the target page of topic links directly after the link, in a little icon (you can choose the appearance of the icon). You can configure this in Configuration > Publishing Options > Adobe PDF > PDF Layout. Click on the Help button there for more information.

This option isn't currently available for Word files. In WebHelp and other electronic formats it wouldn't be useful because there are no page numbers there to refer to.
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
Tonea Morrow