Error opening file; cannot be found in archive

Please post all questions and comments regarding Help & Manual 7 here.

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

Ga Bowen

Error opening file; cannot be found in archive

Unread post by Ga Bowen »

I get the following opening a project:

It is my most recently saved one. I was recently messing around linking snippets from a .hmxp file (which I've never done before).

I have installed a big Windows update since the last save.

I have no idea what the file project.hmxp is.

Any ideas?
Tim Green
Site Admin

Re: Error opening file; cannot be found in archive

Unread post by Tim Green »

Hi Ga,

This message normally means that your HMXZ project file is damaged or corrupted. This is quite rare, and when it does happen it is usually the result of network errors while saving on a network drive or a drive error when saving on an unreliable drive, for example a USB thumb drive. Unfortunately, this can happen to any file on Windows if you experience a Windows problem or network error (on a network drive) while the save process is actually in progress.

You can check to see if there is anything inside the damaged file that you can save by changing its extension from .hmxz to .zip (it is actually a normal zip archive). You can then try to unpack it with a normal zip program or a zip repair tool. Frequently, however, anything more than minimal damage to a compressed archive will make the entire contents unreadable. If you can't access the contents in this way you will have to return to your most recent backup.