Open a PDF file in an independent pdf reader

Please post all questions and comments regarding Help & Manual 7 here.

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

Sev Deloffre

Open a PDF file in an independent pdf reader

Unread post by Sev Deloffre »

Hi Tim and Alexander,

I have defined some PDF file links in topics (for a Webhelp output)
How to make them open in a "reader" (or in another window) and not in the main window of the help file? and in the size I have defined in the PDF file properties?
I have seen that it is possible to define than for an internet link and also for topic link...
for information: (I have personalized the layout by using the HTML code, even if I'm not an expert of html language at all :? )

some info about what I have seen:
I have noticed that if you ctrl + click on the link in the output, the file is opened in an other window.
And I have also noticed that the size of the PDF file I initially defined in its properties (100% zoom when opening the pdf file) is not respected

Many thanks for explanations or solutions :D

Best regards
Séverine
Tim Green
Site Admin

Re: Open a PDF file in an independent pdf reader

Unread post by Tim Green »

You can't really influence this in links from web pages. It depends on the user's own settings for opening files from links in their browser. A link is a link, and the only change you can make as the author is in the target setting, whether it is supposed to open in a new tab/window or the current one. In some skins where opening within the skin is not possible this will always be a new tab/window anyway.

Web browsers are increasingly including PDF functionality of their own (Edge, Chrome), which is a terrible idea, but they love to default to opening the PDF file themselves. :?
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
Martin Wynne

Unread post by Martin Wynne »