Batch publish

Please post all questions and comments regarding Help & Manual 7 here.

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

Batch publish

Unread postby John Johann » Thu Nov 22, 2018 11:35 am

Is it possible to set the Publishing Options > Microsoft HTML Help (or the other pubkishing format options) via batch to a set of standardised settings when publishing multiple projects?

Failing that, is there an easy way to harmonise those settings across multiple projects without having to open them individually and manually check them?
John Johann
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:35 pm

Re: Batch publish

Unread postby Tim Green » Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:46 pm

Hi John,

Not as such, but you can use both the Publishing Task Manager and the command line publishing options to create tasks and batch files that you can reuse to have all the same settings, and also publish multiple projects to different outputs with different settings all at the same time. See these chapters in the help:

https://helpandmanual.com/help/index.ht ... _tasks.htm

https://helpandmanual.com/help/index.ht ... ndline.htm
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20355
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany

Re: Batch publish

Unread postby John Johann » Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:14 pm

Thanks Tim,
I'd experimented with those.

Perhaps I'm a little slow on the uptake today, but I don't see how to apply the settings at Publishing Options > Microsoft HTML Help in addition to skins / output format / includes in the help topics you linked.
John Johann
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:35 pm

Re: Batch publish

Unread postby Tim Green » Thu Nov 22, 2018 7:12 pm

John Johann wrote:Perhaps I'm a little slow on the uptake today, but I don't see how to apply the settings at Publishing Options > Microsoft HTML Help in addition to skins / output format / includes in the help topics you linked.

Those options aren't configurable from the command line or the Publish screen. they are project options. That's what I meant by "Not as such..". The Toolbox utility in the Premium Pack allows you to configure those options in skins, however, if you have that. :)
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20355
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany


Return to Help & Manual 7 Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests