TOC entry pointing to anchor in topic / Masterpage

Please post all questions and comments regarding Help & Manual 7 here.

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

Alex Luna

TOC entry pointing to anchor in topic / Masterpage

Unread post by Alex Luna »

Hello,

I'm trying H&M 7, I'm new to it and couldn't find how to create a TOC entry that points to an anchor in a topic.
I would also like to generate a WebHelp that make use of my ASP.NET application's MasterPage. Is that possible?

Thank you
Regards
Alex
Tim Green
Site Admin

Re: TOC entry pointing to anchor in topic / Masterpage

Unread post by Tim Green »

Hi Alex,
Alex Luna wrote:I'm trying H&M 7, I'm new to it and couldn't find how to create a TOC entry that points to an anchor in a topic.
Switching the TOC entry to an anchor instead of the top of the topic is easy. Just create a normal entry to the topic, then open the Topic Options tab on the left of the topic editor window. On the upper left you can select an anchor that you want to link to in the Anchor: field, providing that topic contains anchors.

You can use this to create fake "chapters" based on only one topic by creating multiple entries for the same topic, pointing to different anchors, with the entry pointing to the top of the topic as the main chapter entry. Sounds like a great idea, but generally isn't. The Previous/Next navigation will only work correctly in the Premium Pack V3 skins and it can tempt you to create excessively long topics . In almost all cases a separate topic for each subject is the best way to go and then you don't need to have TOC entries with anchors either. 8)
Alex Luna wrote:I would also like to generate a WebHelp that make use of my ASP.NET application's MasterPage. Is that possible?