How to Add a document into existing document

Please post all questions and comments regarding Help & Manual 7 here.

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

JDVequipment1+

How to Add a document into existing document

Unread post by JDVequipment1+ »

I am very new to Help & Manual and I am in need of assistance.
Our company already has a document created using Help & Manual for all our company procedures.
I have a document that I need to add into this already existing manual, and I have read the Help Manual, tried to find a YouTube video to watch
and I am still having problems understanding the concept.

I go to Create New Project > Create New Empty Project > Enter the Title of the document that I want to add - and this is where I am getting lost.
I have done a copy & paste of the document that I need to upload, but I am not sure where to paste it and how to add it into the TOC under the heading for procedures.

I reached out to someone in the office and I was told to Create New Project > Create New Empty Project > enter the title of the doc and save to my desktop. Still, no idea how to upload into the TOC of the existing document under the TOC.

I know I am missing a step somewhere along the line. I need help, please :(
Tim Green
Site Admin

Re: How to Add a document into existing document

Unread post by Tim Green »

Hi "JDV" (how about a name? :) ),

The only problem here is that you're not yet clear on the difference between a project and a document. A project is the entire documentation system, and every topic in the project is a separate document. These documents are all managed within the project as if they were a single document -- so you can search and replace through all of them in the same way as within a single Word file, for example.