Responsive skin when using script to populate topic

This forum is for discussions on the Help & Manual Premium Pack and the Premium Pack Toolbox configuration utility introduced with Premium Pack 3

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

Helen Abbott

Responsive skin when using script to populate topic

Unread post by Helen Abbott »

I'm trying to use a v3 responsive skin, Premium Pack version 3.15.

After publishing WebHelp, I need to run a script that populates content in several reference topics.

With a non-responsive skin, this works fine - I've been using the script for a few months now.

With a responsive skin (without any customization), I have to manually refresh the page contents every time I hit the page. Otherwise, the unsubstituted variables are displayed.

Is populating topic contents with a script supported with v3 skins?

Thanks,
Helen Abbott
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tim Green
Site Admin

Re: Responsive skin when using script to populate topic

Unread post by Tim Green »

Hi Helen,
Is populating topic contents with a script supported with v3 skins?
This isn't possible in the way you have been doing it because of the way that the new WebHelp 3 format works. Topics are no longer loaded as normal HTML files. The original page you visit is a normal HTML file, but that then becomes your main page. After that, browsing to a new topic is performed in a different way. The new topic is loaded by getting the content from a compressed data file and replacing the contents of the current topic with the new topic contents.