WinHelp 2000

Nothing is perfect! This is where you can post your ideas and wishes for functions you'd like to see in Help & Manual. Current version only please (H&M7).

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

smdavenport

WinHelp 2000

Unread post by smdavenport »

I'm new to Help Authoring and have been reviewing H&M along with RoboHelp, AuthorIt, and Doc-To-Help.

I see that RoboHelp has a format called WinHelp 2000 that extends the functionality of WinHelp to display the multi-pane format like HTML Help. This looks very intriguing. Does anyone know if this is proprietary to RoboHelp? Does H&M have any plans to implement it?

Could anyone make a recommendation about the "best" format to use? I've seen a number of comments saying that there are many reasons HTML Help is better, but I haven't seen them listed. Any advice would be most appreciated.
Tim Green
Site Admin

Unread post by Tim Green »

Every help format has its place for different needs, but WinHelp is rather antiquated and not really suitable for modern applications. You can find my take on the basic pros and cons of WinHelp vs HTML Help on my website, here:

http://www.it-authoring.com/articles/faq.htm

I'm not sure what WinHelp 2000 is but it sounds like a proprietary add-on or set of add-ons for the Robohelp stable, so it's less than likely that it will ever make an appearance in Help & Manual. Also, since WinHelp itself is (thankfully) a dying format you also can't expect to see any new additions to it in Help & Manual in the future.

Basically, the uses of the main help systems available are as follows:

HTML Help is the number-one choice for applications running on users' computers. It's a compact, single-file format, it's very powerful and flexible and all users are instantly familiar with it, which makes it automatically intuitive.