Numbering in tables

Nothing is perfect! This is where you can post your ideas and wishes for functions you'd like to see in Help & Manual. Current version only please (H&M7).

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

Numbering in tables

Unread postby Ga Bowen » Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:40 pm

Would be a very useful addition, as per this request:

https://helpman.it-authoring.com/viewtopic.php?t=12406

That was a few years ago, so I'm guessing it's not possible?

Thanks
Ga Bowen
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:05 pm

Re: Numbering in tables

Unread postby Tim Green » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:02 am

This is not currently on the radar. As explained in the original thread, each table cell is effectively a separate document, so continuing numbering across them is problematic. :?
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20158
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany

Re: Numbering in tables

Unread postby Ga Bowen » Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:33 am

I've been thinking about this problem as it's the only thing that frustrates me with H&M.

At the moment you can create <%A++%> and you have your own number list. This is fine if you just want

1
2
3

but not

1.1
1.2
1.3
2.1
2.2

Is there a way we, well you, could create the latter option, something like <%A.A++%>? The first A would have to relate to the A in <%A++%>

I guess that wouldn't work as the A isn't being looked for in that variable.

I suppose you could have <%A++%>.<%B++%> but it gets vastly complicated if you have frequent amendments.

I don't know, I'm just speaking out aloud. :frustration:
Ga Bowen
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:05 pm

Re: Numbering in tables

Unread postby Tim Green » Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:19 pm

Is there a way we, well you, could create the latter option, something like <%A.A++%>? The first A would have to relate to the A in <%A++%>

Sorry, but this doesn't work with the current numbering variables. They are really just dumb placeholders that get incremented on every occurrence. :?
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20158
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany

Re: Numbering in tables

Unread postby Ga Bowen » Thu Jun 22, 2017 2:19 pm

Tim Green wrote:
Is there a way we, well you, could create the latter option, something like <%A.A++%>? The first A would have to relate to the A in <%A++%>

Sorry, but this doesn't work with the current numbering variables. They are really just dumb placeholders that get incremented on every occurrence. :?


I don't know what to say then, apart from the fact that you didn't used to be able to use conditional tags across more than one cell either... :wink:

Anyway, it's a big shame that something can't be resolved, or alternative methods found as, so far for me, this appears to be H&M's only big weakness.
Ga Bowen
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:05 pm

Re: Numbering in tables

Unread postby Tim Green » Thu Jun 22, 2017 3:46 pm

Ga Bowen wrote:so far for me, this appears to be H&M's only big weakness.

Then it must have fewer weaknesses than any other software application in existence... 8)
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20158
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany

Re: Numbering in tables

Unread postby Ga Bowen » Mon Jul 10, 2017 11:48 am

Tim Green wrote:
Ga Bowen wrote:so far for me, this appears to be H&M's only big weakness.

Then it must have fewer weaknesses than any other software application in existence... 8)


You'll hear no arguments from me. 8)
Ga Bowen
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:05 pm

Re: Numbering in tables

Unread postby Ga Bowen » Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:06 pm

In Excel you can select a couple of cells and then drag those cells along others and it will auto-fill them.

I think I know the answer, as obviously all the cells in an Excel document are linked, but is this possible?
Ga Bowen
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:05 pm

Re: Numbering in tables

Unread postby Tim Green » Tue Apr 10, 2018 5:08 pm

Ga Bowen wrote:In Excel you can select a couple of cells and then drag those cells along others and it will auto-fill them.
I think I know the answer, as obviously all the cells in an Excel document are linked, but is this possible?

No, this isn't possible in Help+Manual. You can copy and paste multiple cells, but the tables are still static word-processing tables. A spreadsheet is a completely different animal; that is why you have programs like Excel. 8)
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20158
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany


Return to H&M Wish List

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests