Keeping track of reviews and changes to draft P&P statem

This forum is for the discussion of the business and craft of writing help. For example writing style, choices of HTML Help or WinHelp or browser-based and so on...

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

Jared

Keeping track of reviews and changes to draft P&P statem

Unread post by Jared »

Hi,

I am producing a Policy and Procedure Manual from scratch using H&M. While I have experience editing people’s work, I have never really been able to figure out how to keep track of changes made to electronic files. And I have no experience writing and editing on the level that I am currently. I would appreciate it if anyone could give me some suggestions or guidance with regard to collaborating or distributing draft policy statements for review, correction and authorization by management.

My boss suggested using the routing feature in MS Word to send the draft statements for review, correction, etc. The problem with this is there are many different operating systems versions on the network and a bunch of people can’t use the routing features of MS Word.

A hard copy delivered and then marked up and returned is the way I have always done it but if you are working on 10-100 drafts at a time, I think this would turn into a mess real quickly. Besides I am trying to utilize all this expensive technology not duplicate it in manual (excuse the pun) system.

I could use the document compare feature of MS Word but I am not sure how I would keep track of which version or read I was looking at. And this would require that everyone that was reviewing know how to use this system and this seems unlikely.

I have seen products on the market for creating policy and procedure manuals which very effectively deal with this issue. But the are not as flexible or as good for actually organizing and writing the P&P as H&M is. Also they require everyone who collaborates or edits to buy a license which makes the cost prohibitive.