Developing a Website with H&M - HTML Back Ground Image

This forum is for the discussion of the business and craft of writing help. For example writing style, choices of HTML Help or WinHelp or browser-based and so on...

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

bretwhiteley

Developing a Website with H&M - HTML Back Ground Image

Unread post by bretwhiteley »

I am fairly new to HTML and Help and Manual. Have however, developed an awesome set of manuals (User, Technical and Developers) for some engineering software we developed. Help and Manual worked great for that, so i decided to try and use it to update my website. I spent about two weeks last Christmas break trying to get Dreamweaver to do this, and it was just more complicated that it needed to be! I am thus exploring using H&M to see if I can use its really simple authoring environment to develop my website.

What I want is going to just be a basic table layout, with graphics (borders, headers, footers, navigation menu's) and content in that table. However, i would like to insert a graphic background into the area "around" the table in the web browser. I think I should do this by editing the HTML source in the HTML Page Templates in H&M publishing options. Is this correct? also, any snippets I can use to get this going would be appreciated. Would be best if i could have the image either stretch across the whole page, or be centered and then use a colored background to provide the depth in the webpage appearance I am looking for.

Thanks for help, assistance anyone can provide.

Bret.
Tim Green
Site Admin

Re: Developing a Website with H&M - HTML Back Ground Image

Unread post by Tim Green »

Hi Bret,