Header using Webhelp>Layout>Three frames appears empty

HM5 served us well, now its time has come and it has been replaced... If you have HM5 questions, please post them here.

Moderators: Alexander Halser, Tim Green

Post Reply
Stein Groth
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2023 2:40 pm

Header using Webhelp>Layout>Three frames appears empty

Unread post by Stein Groth »

Hi,,,

Generated index.html contain "http://xxxxxxxx" instead of "https://xxxxxxxx" in reference to hmheader.
The consequence is that the company logo is not displayed in the header frame when Chrome is set in "connection-safe-mode".

This is my understanding of the broblem, but I'm on thin ice here....

We are still using h&m version 5.6.

Is it possible to solve this in version 5.6 of h&m?

Regards
Stein
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
Posts: 23245
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Header using Webhelp>Layout>Three frames appears empty

Unread post by Tim Green »

Hi Stein,

What skin are you using? I just looked in the old Help+Manual 5 templates and the reference to the header is without a prefix, just like this:

Code: Select all

<frame name="hmheader" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" scrolling="No" noresize src="_frame_header.htm" title="Header">
If you are using a skin where it is different you can edit the reference by editing the .hmskin file and navigating to Configuration > Publishing Options > WebHelp > Layout. This is the template for the main layout page where that reference is located.
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
Stein Groth
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2023 2:40 pm

Re: Header using Webhelp>Layout>Three frames appears empty

Unread post by Stein Groth »

Hi Tim

I think skin used is sky_blue_horiz.hmskin

I've got 12 projects using this template and each of them produce index.html containing:

document.write('<frame name="hmheader" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" scrolling="no" noresize="noresize" src="http://www.habit.no/HelpSSK/COMMON_FILES/HEADER/header.html" title="Header" />');

and

<frame name="hmheader" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" scrolling="no" noresize="noresize" src="http://www.habit.no/HelpSSK/COMMON_FILES/HEADER/header.html" title="Header" />

where as I understand "http://" instead of "https://" is cause Chrome in safe-mode to ignore showing the header.

I frequently update some of the projects, sometimes more than once a day. I'm thinking of writing a program that updates index.html befor uploading to our web site but if it possible to solve this in h&m I will do that.

As it is 5.6 fills our needs. Will this problem go away if upgraded to last version? Is there a risk involved in upgrading(timeconsuming afterwork)?

Regards
Stein
User avatar
Tim Green
Site Admin
Posts: 23245
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:11 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Header using Webhelp>Layout>Three frames appears empty

Unread post by Tim Green »

Hi Stein,

You're using one of the very old Premium Pack skins. I just compiled a project with the current version of one of those skins that I have and it only writes this in that location:

Code: Select all

document.write('<frame name="hmheader" src="3frame_header_dummy.htm" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" scrolling="auto" noresize="noresize" title="Header" />');
Looking at the skin, the header file is inserted with the 3FRAME_PAGE variable in the skin. My guess is that you have configured this with an http: prefix at some point. You just need to change that reference to https:// and then it should work fine. 8)
Regards,
Tim (EC Software Documentation & User Support)

Private support:
Please do not email or PM me with private support requests -- post to the forum directly.
Stein Groth
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2023 2:40 pm

Re: Header using Webhelp>Layout>Three frames appears empty

Unread post by Stein Groth »

Many thanks Tim,,,

Found it in text variables in the skin project (created in 2009). Not shore if https: existed way back then.

As you say: It works fine :D

Regards
Stein
Post Reply